This Week in RSLC News: Michigan Legislative Leadership Elections, FMP/RWRN Successes, and more

charlieNews, RSLC News, Weekly Roundup


The RSLC’s Future Majority Project and Right Women, Right Now initiatives helped elect over 165 new female and 20 new diverse Republican state legislators on Election Night. Many of these dynamic candidates flipped previously Democrat-held districts such as West Virginia Delegate-elect Caleb Hanna and Maryland Senator-elect Mary Beth Carrozza, who were both featured on the RSLC’s “18 in ’18: Races to Watch” list.


“Democrat gains in state legislatures fall short of wave hopes,” read a headline in The Hill Thursday morning which included a quote from the RSLC describing the night as “underwhelming” for Democrats. Republicans flipped nearly 100 seats from Democrat control on Election Night including ten districts that Republicans had lost in special elections over the past two years.  

“They’re still trying to chip away at the thousand seats they lost over the course of the decade, to crawl out from those historic lows,” RSLC President Matt Waltertold the New York Times this week regarding Democrats’ failure to win back any legislative chambers in states President Trump carried in 2016. “The battlefield is very deep into their turf,” he added as Republicans continue to hold 62 Republican legislative majorities across the country. 

The RSLC released this week a full breakdown of the successful down-ballot statewide candidates the committee supported. “We are so thrilled with our array of strong candidates who are winning vital statewide races and continuing to expand the reach of Republicans,” RSLC President Matt Walter said in the press release. 

Michigan Representative Lee Chatfield will serve as the Speaker for the 2019-2020 legislative session after his caucus held their majority on Election Night despite Democrat victories at the top of the ticket. At 30 years old, Chatfield becomes the youngest speaker in the country and the youngest speaker in his state’s history. On the Senate side, Senator Mike Shirkey was selected to serve as Majority Leader for the caucus.