RSLC Announces 2018 Future Majority Project Executive Committee

charlieNews, Press


David James

RSLC Announces 2018 Future Majority Project Executive Committee

Lt. Governors Evelyn Sanguinetti and Jenean Hampton To Serve as Co-Chairs

WASHINGTON, D.C. (April 5, 2018) — The Republican State Leadership Committee (RSLC) announced that Illinois Lt. Governor Evelyn Sanguinetti and Kentucky Lt. Governor Jenean Hampton will serve as co-chairs of the 2018 Executive Committee for the Future Majority Project initiative.  The Executive Committee features 22 state-level elected officials from 18 states who come from diverse backgrounds. New Mexico Governor Susana Martinez and Nevada Governor Brian Sandoval will continue to serve as honorary co-chairs.

“We started the Future Majority Project in 2011 to support Republican candidates who better reflect the growing diversity of the American electorate. Since its founding we have helped elect over 100 diverse Republican state legislators and are continuing to expand this initiative into 2018,” RSLC President Matt Walter stated.

“The RSLC’s Future Majority Project is critically important because our government functions best when its representatives reflect the growing diversity of the electorate.  I am the daughter of teenage immigrant parents and I am proof that the American Dream is possible,” said Illinois Lt. Governor Evelyn Sanguinetti.  “As our country’s first Latina Lt. Governor, I have a unique governing philosophy and policy perspective that benefits the residents I serve.  I am proud to Co-Chair this effort to recruit diverse Republican candidates to our party.”

“I’m personally aware of the unique challenges conservative minority candidates may encounter when running for office. Yet, I enjoy sharing GOP core principles of life, liberty and personal responsibility with anyone who’ll listen,” Lt. Governor Jenean Hampton said.  She is the first black person elected to statewide office in Kentucky’s history.  “The Future Majority Project’s efforts to encourage, recruit, and support diverse Republican candidates for state offices are vital to the growth and success of the Republican Party,” Hampton added.

In conjunction with the RSLC’s Right Women, Right Now initiative to recruit more women into office, the Future Majority Project has invested nearly $20 million into its efforts to elect and support dynamic female and diverse candidates for state level offices.

The full membership of the Future Majority Project’s 2018 Executive Committee are listed below:

  • Dante Acosta, State Representative – California
  • Ralph Alvarado, State Senator – Kentucky
  • Niraj Antani, State Representative – Ohio
  • Shane Aguirre, State Representative – Mississippi
  • Alonzo Baldonado, State Representative – New Mexico
  • Shamed Dogan, State Representative – Missouri
  • Daniela Garcia, State Representative – Michigan
  • Jenean Hampton, Lt. Governor – Kentucky
  • Beth Martinez Humenik, State Senator – Colorado
  • Tony Hwang, State Senator – Connecticut
  • Lauren Matsumoto, State Representative – Hawaii
  • Jason Miyares, Delegate – Virginia
  • Jenna Haggar Netherton, State Senator – South Dakota
  • Jose Oliva, Speaker Designate – Florida
  • Jessie Rodriguez, State Representative – Wisconsin
  • Evelyn Sanguinetti, Lt. Governor – Illinois
  • TJ Shope, Speaker Pro Tempore – Arizona
  • Andria Tupola, House Republican Leader – Hawaii
  • Jill Upson, Delegate – West Virginia
  • Dave Williams, State Representative – Colorado
  • Jackie Winters, Senate Republican Leader – Oregon
  • Monica Youngblood, State Representative – New Mexico