Conservative Neil Whaley Flips Former Democrat Senate Leader’s State Legislative Seat



David James

Conservative Neil Whaley Flips Former Democrat Senate Leader’s State Legislative Seat ​

WASHINGTON, D.C. (November 29th, 2017) — Republican State Leadership Committee President Matt Walter released the following statement upon Neil Whaley’s special election victory for Mississippi’s 10th Senate district:

“Neil Whaley’s victory last night shows that strong candidates with a background in creating jobs can flip state legislative seats in traditionally Democrat-held districts. The Mississippi Senate Republican supermajority will grow thanks to the leadership of Lt. Governor Tate Reeves, who has led the way in passing  conservative reforms to strengthen Mississippi’s economy.”

Mississippi’s 10th Senate district was previously held by Senate Democrat Minority Leader Bill Stone who ran uncontested in his re-election bid in 2015.

Whaley’s victory makes this the third state legislative seat to flip from Democrat to Republican control this year. In November Republican Chris Brown defeated Democrat Colin Bell for a seat in the New Jersey Senate. The 2nd legislative district, previously held by a Democrat, voted for Hillary Clinton by a 12% margin in 2016 and for President Obama by a 20% margin in 2012. Earlier this year, Republicans also flipped control of Louisiana House District 42, a district that had been held by Democrats since at least 1972.


The Republican State Leadership Committee (RSLC) is the largest caucus of Republican state leaders in the country and the only national organization whose mission is to elect Republicans to multiple down-ballot, state-level offices. Since 2002, the RSLC has been working to elect candidates to the offices of lieutenant governor, secretary of state, state legislator, the judiciary and other down-ticket races. After Election Night 2017, state-level Republicans maintain 67 of 99 legislative chamber majorities in red, purple and blue states, hold 30 lieutenant governor seats, and control 30 secretaries of state offices. To learn more about the RSLC, please visit or follow @RSLC on Twitter.