RSSC Announces 2017 Chair, Executive Committee


WASHINGTON, D.C. — Today, the Republican State Leadership Committee’s (RSLC) secretaries caucus, the Republican Secretaries of State Committee (RSSC), announced its 2017 leadership team. Nevada Secretary of State Barbara Cegavske will serve as Chair with an additional eight Republican secretaries from across the country serving on the RSSC Executive Committee.

The 2017 Executive Committee is: Arizona Secretary of State Michele Reagan; Colorado Secretary of State Wayne Williams; Georgia Secretary of State Brian Kemp; Iowa Secretary of State Paul Pate; Kansas Secretary of State Kris Kobach; Ohio Secretary of State Jon Husted; Tennessee Secretary of State Tre Hargett; and Washington Secretary of State Kim Wyman.

2017 RSSC Chair Barbara Cegavske (NV) issued the following statement:
“The RSSC has been instrumental in helping elect more Republican secretaries of state to uphold the integrity of our elections, encourage healthy business climates and perform several other tasks critical to promoting economic growth in the states. Republicans nearly swept secretaries races in 2016, bringing the number of GOP-held seats to 31 out of 50 — an all-time Party high. It is a tremendous honor to be named Chair of the RSSC during such an exciting time for our caucus and the Republican Party. Secretary Hargett, our outgoing Chairman, did an incredible job of leading the RSSC to victory, and I look forward to working with him and the rest of the Executive Committee to build on our past successes.”

2015-2016 RSSC Chair Tre Hargett (TN) issued the following statement:
“Over the past two years, I have seen the RSSC grow in size and scope, and I have been continuously impressed by the impact this unique and innovative organization has on the political landscape nationwide. In 2016, Republicans — aided by the RSSC — won the Oregon secretary’s seat for the first time in 36 years, picked up the secretary seats in West Virginia and Missouri, and reelected one of our own in Washington. It has been an incredible honor to lead the RSSC during such an exciting period of growth, and I look forward to continuing to support the caucus and our new Chair, Secretary Cegavske, as an Executive Committee member this year.”